About

Mission Statement

The mission of the Missouri Valley Branch of the ASM is to foster interaction among microbiologists in Kansas, Nebraska, and Oklahoma. We are a topically diverse group of researchers, and we welcome participation from scientists interested in any area of microbiology.

Meetings

We sponsor an annual meeting in March or April of each year. The branch meeting features presentations by faculty, post-docs, graduate and undergraduate students from the region. The meeting is very student focused and relaxed and provides an excellent venue for graduate and undergraduate students to present their research and interact with researchers from other institutions. Information about our next meeting and other news can be found.

Our previous meetings have been held at a variety of institutions and city in our region.

Attendees to past meetings have come from colleges, universities and companies in our region and nearby states.

Membership

We invite you to become a member of the Missouri Valley Branch and to support the activities of the Missouri Valley branch. You can purchase a branch membership online through the ASM Home Page. Select Join ASM under the Membership toolbar and then select Purchase US Branch Membership Online. Alternatively you can join by registering to attend our next meeting or by contacting the branch secretary/treasurer.

Branch Officers

President

Franklin R. Champlin, Ph.D.
Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology
1111 West 17th Street
Tulsa, OK 74107 
918-561-8490
franklin.champlin@okstate.edu

President-Elect

Paul Blum
University of Nebraska
School of Biological Sciences
1901 Vine Street
Lincoln, Nebraska 68588-0666
402-472-2769
pblum1@unl.edu

Secretary-Treasurer

Donald Rowen
University of Nebraska, Omaha
Department of Biology
6001 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68164
(402) 554-2143
FAX: (402) 554-3532
drowen@unomaha.edu

Councilor

Earl L Blewett
Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Dept of Biochemistry and Microbiology
1111 West 17th Street
Tulsa OK 74107
(918) 561-8405
earl.blewett@okstate.edu

Regional Student Chapters

Oklahoma State University
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kim Burhnam
kim.burnham@okstate.edu

Kansas State University
Faculty Advisor: Martha Smith Caldas
(785)532-0867
mscaldas@ksu.edu

University of Kansas
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Scott Hefty
(785)864-4294
pshefty@ku.edu

University of Nebraska-Lincoln
microbiologyclub.unl@gmail.com
Faculty Advisors:
Nicole Baun
nbuan2@unl.edu
402-472-7413

James Alfano
alfano2@unl.edu

University of Oklahoma, Norman
Faculty Advisor: Paul Lawson
(405) 325-4426
paul.lawson@ou.edu

ASM Logo